Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 - 04:04 am EDT

EACS board to have three new members

Incumbent Richard Allgeier was defeated.


The East Allen County Schools board will have a different feel as three new members were elected to the seven-member board, with only one of two incumbents who ran staying on.

Bob Nelson Jr., Arden Hoffman and Chris Baker joined incumbent Terry Jo Lightfoot as election winners on Tuesday.

Lightfoot defeated Vince Buchanan in District 7E, which covers a majority of the Leo-Cedarville area. Lightfoot tallied 3,398 votes, or 57 percent, to Buchanan’s 2,593 and 43 percent, according to the Allen County Election Board.

Hoffman, on the other hand, ousted incumbent Richard Allgeier in District 6R, which is an at-large seat. Hoffman finished with 10,274 votes, or 56 percent of the vote. That easily outpaced Allgeier, who had been on the board since 1996. Allgeier finished with 8,180 votes, or 44 percent.

Baker was unopposed in District 4E, which represents the New Haven area. Incumbent Alyssa Lewandowski decided not to seek another term, and Baker tallied 4,335 votes.

Nelson will represent District 5R, which is also an at-large seat. Nelson will replace outgoing board president Janice Witte, who moved out of the district and could not seek reelection in 5R.

Nelson defeated Mike Paff for the seat, tallying 10,625 votes to Paff’s 7,851.

High 73 °F
Low 52 °F
69 °F
Mostly Cloudy
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search
Things To Do

Dow 17279.7413.75
Nasdaq 4579.79-13.64
S&P 500 2010.40-0.96
AEP 53.28+0.54
Comcast 56.74-0.11
GE 26.29+0.08
ITT Exelis 18.51-0.15
LNC 55.64-0.05
Navistar 37.03-0.62
Raytheon 103.35+0.87
SDI 24.365-0.585
Verizon 50.35+0.66
  Stock Sponsor